Dipping My Toes

Hello readers.  I had been mulling over the idea of starting a knitting blog for some time, but today was the day I decided to cast my anxieties aside and finally start it, just a few days after turning 30.  You only live once, right?

First, a little bit about me.  My name is Crystal, and the reason why I decided to title this blog “The Snowless Knitter” is because of the fact that I am a knitter (and occasional crocheter) who lives in the incredibly snowless region of Central Florida.  I was born and raised right here in Central Florida, and as I mentioned in the last paragraph, I just turned 30 years of age.  I am unmarried, with no children, but I do have one dog and one very adorable baby niece.  I have been crocheting since I was about 8 years old, learning how to make granny squares from my maternal grandmother, although I did not learn flat crocheting until I was about 18 years old.  I also took up knitting at 18, although it took me a year to learn how to purl.  Once I figured out purling (thanks to a dear friend’s mom), the other blocks kind of fell into place.  These days, I can knit almost anything, even some projects without a pattern, except for intarsia, and I can crochet almost anything with the help of a pattern.  My main craft is knitting, but I am not above pulling out some yarn and a crochet hook when the inspiration strikes me.

While this is not my first attempt at blogging, this is my first time blogging on WordPress.  I’ve kept my own personal journals and notebooks over the years, but this is the first time I am publishing a knitting blog.  I guess in a way I am trying to explore myself through writing, because I am currently at a point in my life where I am not sure what direction my life is going to go in terms of a personal life or a career.  I have a lot of ideas and dreams, but I don’t have any idea as to what I want to do.  I currently care for my mother while my father works during most of the week.  At times, I think she needs me more than the rest of the world needs me, and for now, I’m probably right.  To express myself and indulge my ideas, I usually knit.  I pick colors that reflect my mood or state of mind, and I design projects that reflect my ideas.  For me, knitting is more than just a hobby…it is a way for me to express myself in ways that I normally feel like I can’t do by speech or in writing.

I feel like I’m trying to rediscover my literary side by doing this.  My favorite blogger is Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, better known by her nickname, “Yarn Harlot”.  Ever since I found her blog about a decade or so ago, I’ve always admired how she approaches things in life, the big and the small, with a sense of humor and a touch of whimsy.  The smiles and giggles I’ve gotten from reading her blog over the years helped me through some tough times for me emotionally in my early 20s (along with watching The Golden Girls and discovering a love for baseball), and even now as I’ve been on more even footing emotionally, I still enjoy reading about her adventures in life as she is about to become a grandmother (as she’s chronicled on her blog) and her continued adventures in knitting.  I hope to discover things about my writing through this blog.  I really do.

I don’t know how often I plan on posting here.  I do know this: I don’t plan to post just for the sake of posting.  This is a blog, not a diary.  This is not for sharing my deepest, darkest secrets; this is for sharing a bit of myself with the world and hoping that the world will appreciate me in return.  I hope the readers enjoy my writing, and perhaps I may start chronicling my knitting here very soon.  Thank you.

Author: Crystal P (snowlessknitter)

I'm a thirty-year-old homemaker and ambicraftuous yarn and needle enthusiast from Central Florida. I am a female sports fan, love watching baseball (Red Sox, Braves, and Cubs) and also enjoy cooking, reading, yakking it up on Ravelry, and playing video games (mainly Nintendo and PlayStation).

2 thoughts on “Dipping My Toes”

  1. And now I know some of your knitting/crochet history, and I must say I am impressed. I’ve been doing them for years, but you are so talented compared to me! I will be looking forward to reading your adventures. Keep it up, my lady!

    Like

  2. Wow! You and I have lots of similarities! Age, craft, blogging history, career quandaries, so much! I look forward to keep up with your blog. Thanks for reaching out and commenting on my also newly-born yarny writings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

