WIPs: 6/14/2017 (or, An Update on La vie en rose et violet)

In which I give to you the latest update on my current Work in Progress.

image

Detail from La vie en rose et violet

It’s been a while since I posted some actual knitting updates on here, mainly because I’ve been working on one big project instead of several smaller ones.  As you’ve seen before, I’ve been working on an afghan since March that I lovingly refer to as “La vie en rose et violet” (which is French for “Life in Pink and Purple” and a reference to the legendary song by Édith Piaf, “La vie en rose”).

The last time I wrote in depth about this project, I had been working on the sides to make the dimensions for one large, square afghan.  Since then, I’ve been slowly filling it in, churning out a few shapes in the span of a day or two.  According to my calculations, I will need to make the equivalent of 324 small squares to complete this afghan.  I am nowhere near that at the moment.  However, the 25 small squares I recently added in a checkerboard pattern does put me under 300 total small squares to go (and then some, considering I’ve already completed two side edges of it, equivalent of 18 small squares per side).

image

The checkerboard!!!!1!1!!
image

The checkerboard and immediate surrounding areas.

I also started a little bit on the lower left side of the afghan, and will probably start filling more of that in next.

image

Portion of the lower left side of the afghan; the left edge of the checkerboard can be seen on the right side of the photo.

I hope to get more done soon, and once I have another sizable portion worked here, I’ll do another update.

Until later, and happy knitting (or for my non-knitting followers, happy reading)!

Author: snowlessknitter

I'm a thirty-year-old homemaker and ambicraftuous yarn and needle enthusiast from Central Florida. I am a female sports fan, love watching baseball (Red Sox, Braves, and Cubs) and also enjoy cooking, reading, yakking it up on Ravelry, and playing video games (mainly Nintendo and PlayStation).

7 thoughts on “WIPs: 6/14/2017 (or, An Update on La vie en rose et violet)”

    1. I actually *do not* use short rows in this method. All the pieces are knit flat using a method called mitering, where you start with an odd number of stitches, and I will cast on or pick up sets of stitches depending on the shape I’m making. I work a centered double decrease on every right side row until one to three stitches remain, depending on shape, and then I fasten off or secure the stitches. (I separate each set on the rectangles and Ls with stitch markers and work each set of stitches like an individual square). The pieces are joined as I go (I suck at sewing), and I weave in my ends after each piece is done (and before I begin the next one). This is only the second freeform patchwork afghan I’ve made. Once this one is finished (and I plan to sell it, I’ll see if one of my dad’s co-workers, and he has several, may be interested in buying it), I’ll probably go simpler with my next afghan. I’m thinking garterlac with a color scheme based on Neapolitan ice cream (mostly because I found a color of Red Heart that reminds me of strawberry ice cream).

      If you want to learn more about the mitering method I use, I have an entry on here called “Mitering (or, How to Give Your Project the Norm Abram Treatment)”. I think I posted it in April, so all you have to do is look through the April 2017 archives or type “mitering” into my blog’s search bar.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Oh, and the size I’m using for this one: each square (or set of stitches for a rectangle or L) starts with 29 stitches. My very first one I made, a checkerboard afghan I made using a pattern from Berroco had something like 43 stitches per square (and that one only used simple squares).

      Like

    1. Thank you! It’s relatively easy to do once you have the basics. I have a tutorial in one of my earlier entries, but if mine is a little too wordy for you to follow along with, I’m sure there are plenty of websites and YouTube videos that give a good tutorial on it as well. I usually do mine in a single yarn, but I’ve seen some versions that use two different colors of yarn worked in alternating sets of rows. The possibilities are endless.

      (I may get back to work on this in a little bit. There is a possibility I may do some Netflix & Knit, as I tend to whiz along on shapes while watching episodes of Gilmore Girls. Or listening to stand-up comedy films. Anything without distracting visuals. Although an episode of the new Mystery Science Theater 3000 could also be an option.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

