The ABCs of Me

With all the emotional upheaval that’s been going on with me lately (my mom’s condition worsening, me having to come to terms with this new chapter, and all of us adjusting to a new normal), I figured I’d post something a little lighter and fun today. I saw this from Kris of Around the Corner (I’m linking to her post for reference), and I decided to do one of my own. So, a little something about me to correspond with each letter of the English alphabet.

Age – I am currently 32, but I will be turning 33 next month!


Bed Size – I currently sleep in a full size bed, which originally belonged to my maternal grandmother, and then it was my brother’s after she passed away. Once he moved out, it was unused for a couple of years, but then I decided to rid myself of an ancient twin mattress that had seen much better days and upgrade to the full. I like to say it’s my answer to the question, Do you sleep around? Why yes…I sleep on the left, on the right, and in the middle…all around my bed! 😂 When you’re a single woman like me, every side is your side of the bed. It’s gonna feel a little weird once I find a man to share a bed with.

Cat name – I’ve only had one official cat and a couple that kinda adopted us. The only cat we’ve had that was truly ours was named Prissy. That was the name she had when we adopted her as a kitten and just kept the name. She was a torbie floof (not a true calico) who hated being held but loved laps and soft blankets. We had her for 16 wonderful years, but her age eventually caught up with her and she was peacefully euthanized in October 2014. We haven’t adopted any cats since then (Roxy is territorial, but she actually didn’t mind Prissy, although Prissy didn’t care much for Roxy…I think Roxy just chases cats that she doesn’t recognize as “her” cats), but I think I could see myself adopting another cat or two in the future. In the meantime I fawn over them on Instagram.

Dog name – Roxy is the only dog I’ve ever had. I don’t really care much for dogs in general (visits to a family friend’s house usually resulted in one of their large dogs trying to tackle me, which traumatized me as a kid), but Roxy grew on me.

Essential start of your day – In a perfect world, my morning would consist of a fresh cup of coffee, checking my emails and news/social feeds, and spending an extended period of time by myself so I can get ready to face the world. These days, it’s usually coffee, The Golden Girls, checking on my mom to see if she’s awake and to get her ready for the day as well as preparing the materials we need to clean her and change her briefs.

Favorite color – I’m usually drawn to shades of red and blue, but I also love anything that is jewel-toned.

Ghosts exist – I’m one of those skeptics when it comes to anything “paranormal”. If anything, the “ghosts” that people experience are more or less projections of our own anxieties and fears.

Height – My ID says I’m 5 feet, 7 inches tall. That could be a slight exaggeration, but I am slightly taller than average…but I don’t have very long legs for my build. I’m built like a German, kinda stocky…the women on my dad’s side of the family have a similar build when they gain weight (and yes, there is German ancestry on his side of the family, although I think he has a larger percentage of British…but he is one-quarter Frisian through his maternal grandfather, whose parents were East Frisian immigrants; East Frisia is located on the northwestern coast of what is now Germany).

Instruments you played in school – I wasn’t in band or anything; I learned recorder in elementary school and for fun kept playing for several years. I used to be able to play quite a lot on a soprano recorder, but it’s been years. In high school I got a guitar as a Christmas present and was a decent strummer. Unfortunately, about 10 years ago the neck broke from the body when I went to pick it up to play it and I haven’t been able to replace it since. I miss playing guitar. I want to relearn it so badly, this time starting from the basics, not just chords.

Jokester or serious – My nickname in school was “Joke Killer”, I am terrible at telling jokes. However, I do like to embrace the sillier side of things, and usually my best received attempts at humor are corny puns, usually involving food. Like these…

Kind of day that’s your favorite – A day with few problems, and the ones that do occur get taken care of relatively quickly. Also, any day where I can sit outside and read in the sun while Roxy runs around is a good day. A perfect day for me, though, would be a day at the beach with a comfy beach chair, a good book, sunny skies, and maybe some friends for company. I don’t really swim in ocean water, so just wading into the waves for a bit would be good. I haven’t been to the beach in well over a decade, but I absolutely love the scent of seawater and the sound of the waves coming in.

Longest relationship – I’ve known me my whole life. Romantically, I’ve never been in a relationship, although it would be nice to be in one…I just haven’t had the time or opportunity to meet anyone who would be worth taking the plunge for. As for my friendships, the longest friendship that I’ve had that still exists to this day has lasted about 24 years (although there were extended periods where she and I were out of contact). The longest friendships I’ve had where I’ve maintained somewhat regular contact with the person has lasted about 20 years (I’ve known this friend since we were 13), and I’ve known The Lady Bryan for 17 years.

Most annoying job – I will admit, being a caregiver has its annoyances. All the paying jobs I’ve had were very temporary, so I haven’t been at one long enough to determine which was the most annoying.

Night Owl – I don’t mind staying up at night. Sometimes I drink coffee too late in the day and I end up staying wide awake until 3 in the morning. But I do enjoy going outside on a clear night and stargazing.

Overnight Hospital stay – I’ve never had to stay in a hospital; heck, I’ve never even had to visit the emergency room! However, I have had relatives who’ve stayed in hospitals overnight, and depending on the situation, it can be a stressful time for me. I’m a bit of an empath, and I think it’s because of that when I see people suffering, it always hits me harder than most people. Even seeing my dad having to stay overnight for observation (triggered by very high blood pressure and chest pains; luckily, stress tests the next day showed there wasn’t anything seriously wrong with his heart) left me a bundle of nerves.

Pet peeve – I have several. My biggest one is when people use a toilet and then they don’t flush, leaving nature’s offerings right there in the bowl for me to see. I always flush before I will use said toilet. I also get annoyed by people who yip while they yawn.

Quiet time hobby – I can knit at any noise level, but I tend to read best when I’ve got a mostly quiet room and some classical music playing (since it’s primarily instrumental and usually has no lyrics to distract me).

Right or Left handed – I do most things right handed; but I open soda cans (or any can with a tab pull), untwist bottle lids, turn book pages and play cards left-handed. (How does one play cards left-handed? Most people will hold a hand of playing cards in their left hand and play a card to the table with their right hand. I, however, have done the opposite for as long as as I can remember: I hold the hand of cards with my right hand and play a card to the table with my left.)

Siblings – I have just one, a younger brother (by around two and half years), who I just refer to by his first initial, “J”, to maintain his privacy. He’s married to my sister-in-law, “A”, and is the father of my nieces, “R” and “The Bambina” (they have the same first initial, so I started calling the younger one “The Bambina”, which comes from the Italian word meaning “little girl”).

TV shows you watch – I am TV aficionado, so I watch quite a bit of TV. Now, obviously The Golden Girls is in regular rotation, but there are many others. My current favorites include The Masked Singer (it’s a fluff show, but it’s so much fun to try and play along with it), Jeopardy! (I am a total Dorothy Zbornak when it comes to this show, although I don’t think I’d be as obnoxious as she was when she tried out for the show in the episode “Questions and Answers”, though; I’d love to try and apply for the show at some point when life isn’t so crazy), Survivor (which has always been a favorite in our family), and Eurovision (which, although it currently does not air on U.S. television, I follow pretty closely over the Internet, and this year will mark the second year in a row that all three shows of the Contest will be put up on Netflix in the U.S. following the Contest; I have previously written a couple of posts about my whole love affair with Eurovision if you’re interested in seeing why I’m so obsessed with it).

Underachiever or Overachiever? – I was a slacker among the brains of my school group; overall, I’d say I’m the textbook example of an underachiever, and basically a female version of Charlie Brown.

Voice of influence – As many differences as we’ve had, my dad is a pretty big influence on how to be both a dedicated worker and a good human being. As for people outside of my family and friends who’ve been influential on how I perceive and interact with the world around me, I’d include John F. Kennedy, Malala Yousafzai, Maya Angelou, and Kurt Vonnegut. Vonnegut’s quote, “God damn it – you’ve got to be kind”, is my number one rule of life.

Worst day of the week – Sundays, because that’s when the week resets for us; it’s the first day of my dad’s work week, far from a day of rest for me. There are no days off in giving care to a family member, but knowing that my dad can help out a little more on his days off does give me a little relief on those days and I can take a little more time to rest and process what’s happened during the week. But then Sunday comes and we have to reset.

X-rays – I’ve only ever had to have dental X-rays done, and you have to wear a lead vest and stand real still. Thankfully, I’ve never broken any bones.

Yummy food you like – Here’s where the German and Italian parts of me really come out: I love cheese, sausages and all sorts of cured meats, lots of savory vegetables like zucchini (courgettes to my Commonwealth readers), eggplant (aubergines), all sorts of summer squash, just about any kind of fish or shellfish, and I’m always up for ice cream.

Zoo favorites – I haven’t been to any zoos since I was a kid. But as long as it isn’t a bug or gigantic spider, I’ll watch any animal. I like bird watching with binoculars sometimes, so something tells me I’d have fun in an aviary.

And that’s it! If you feel like playing along, go right ahead! This was fun.

3 thoughts on “The ABCs of Me

  1. This was GREAT fun!!! I did laugh at myself when I read about your handedness…I actually tried to hold cards like you do and dropped them! AND the cards were imaginary!!! Sheesh. I was also curious about the ‘yip in a yawn’. What is that? Or do I want to know?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s